FAQ

French Immersion

AUCUN français n'est requis pour les élèves entrant en maternelle. A partir du CP, une certaine maîtrise du français est nécessaire. Les enfants non natifs seront évalués au cas par cas. AUCUN anglais n'est requis pour être accepté à NSFS, peu importe le niveau.

Beaucoup de nos élèves ne parlent ni ne comprennent le français lorsqu'ils commencent l'école. Dès le premier jour, nos professeurs initient les élèves à la langue française à travers les activités quotidiennes, y compris des jeux, des histoires, des chansons et des activités physiques.

La capacité naturelle des enfants à apprendre et à s'adapter fait qu'ils commenceront rapidement à comprendre le français, même si certains mettront plus de temps que d'autres à se sentir à l'aise pour parler. Bien que les enfants soient encouragés à parler français en classe avec les enseignants et entre eux, ils sont toujours capables de s'exprimer et d'être compris en anglais. De plus, nos élèves francophones sont encouragés à aider et à soutenir leurs amis non francophones.

Le language s'acquiert plus efficacement lorsqu'elle est apprise dans un contexte social significatif, comme l'école. Grâce à l'immersion, nos élèves apprennent le français comme ils ont appris leur langue maternelle: dans un environnement stimulant, avec beaucoup d'encouragements, beaucoup de répétitions douces et des signaux physiques au besoin.

 

La plupart des enfants comprendront un peu de français après seulement quelques mois. Certains commenceront à essayer de dire des choses en français tout de suite, et d'autres, bien qu'ils puissent comprendre, attendront plus longtemps pour parler jusqu'à ce qu'ils se sentent plus à l'aise avec la langue.

En grande section, l'apprentissage de la langue anglaise est enseigné environ 4 à 5h heures par semaine. Du CP au CE1, 30 % du temps est consacré à l'enseignement en anglais et 70 % à l'enseignement en français. En CM1 et CM2, 50 % de l'enseignement est en anglais et 50% en français. Les élèves étudient certaines matières, comme les mathématiques et les sciences, dans les deux langues. Les objectifs sont pour les élèves de savoir s'exprimer, lire et écrire dans les 2 langues, et de pouvoir intégrer le système français ou américain après le CM2.

General

Nous offrons un super programme après l'école pour les élèves de la grande section au CM2. Vous pouvez en savoir plus ici.

Elementary school (K through 5th): 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Preschool: 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Tous nos élèves ont du temps chaque semaine pour l'apprentissage de l'art, de la musique, des sciences et du sport. Nous avons la chance d'avoir des spécialistes en art, musique et sport qui visitent toutes les classes.

Actuellement, notre petite section et notre moyenne section sont ouverte uniquement le matin. Si vous recherchez une garde à temps plein, parlez-en à notre coordonnatrice des admissions admissions@northseattlefrenchschool.com.

Tous les enfants doivent être parfaitement propres avant de commencer l'école maternelle.

S'inscrire

AUCUN français n'est requis pour les élèves entrant en maternelle. A partir du CP, une certaine maîtrise du français est nécessaire. Les enfants non natifs seront évalués au cas par cas. AUCUN anglais n'est requis pour être accepté à NSFS, peu importe le niveau.

L'école bilingue de Seattle suit le système français pour déterminer le niveau scolaire en fonction de la date de naissance. Pour commencer l'école, les élèves doivent avoir l'âge suivant au 31 décembre:

Petite section: 3 ans
Grande section: 5 ans
CP: 6 ans
et ainsi de suite pour chaque classe suivante.

Par exemple, les élèves qui atteignent l'âge de 5 ans en novembre peuvent commencer la grande section en septembre.

Tous les enfants doivent être parfaitement propres avant de commencer l'école maternelle.

Oui. Les frères et sœurs des élèves actuels bénéficient d'une réduction de 10% sur les frais de scolarité et sont prioritaires lors du processus d'admission. Les frères et sœurs ne sont pas automatiquement acceptés ; tous les candidats doivent suivre le processus d'admission complet.

C'est une bonne idée de commencer à regarder les écoles à l'automne pour l'année scolaire suivante. Notre date limite de candidature prioritaire est en mars. Pour vous assurer que votre enfant a une place pour l'année scolaire à venir, nous vous recommandons fortement de postuler avant la date limite de mars. Nous continuons à accepter les candidatures de manière continue et nous acceptons les élèves en milieu d'année.

Aide financière

Les familles (à partir de la grande section) qui ont examiné en profondeur leur situation financière, y compris toutes les sources de revenus, et qui estiment avoir besoin d'aide pour payer les frais de scolarité sont encouragées à présenter une demande. L'aide est délivrée sous forme de subvention; il n'y a pas d'obligation de remboursement.

Non. Les demandes d'aide financière sont examinées séparément des demandes d'admission.

Veuillez contacter notre coordinatrice des admissions pour planifier une visite de l'école avant de demander une aide financière.

NSFS utilise FAST, un service en ligne de l'Independent School Management Association, pour aider à déterminer l'aide financière. FAST calcule le montant des besoins démontrés pour chaque famille en fonction du revenu brut, du revenu non imposable, des actifs, des passifs, de la taille de la famille et du nombre d'enfants dans des écoles payant des frais de scolarité, entre autres facteurs. L'utilisation de FAST garantit la confidentialité et une considération égale à tous les candidats.

Le comité d'aide financière de NSFS détermine les attributions en fonction des informations sur les besoins démontrés par FAST, ainsi que du montant de l'aide financière disponible et du nombre de familles demandant une aide au cours d'une année donnée.

L'application est entièrement en ligne, via le lien FAST.


La date limite finale est début mars pour l'année scolaire suivante, mais il est conseillé de commencer l'application FAST le plus tôt possible. il est conseillé de commencer l'application FAST le plus tôt possible. Please begin your FAST application early to see exactly what documentation is needed. Please contact our Operations Manager at operations@northseattlefrenchschool.com for any questions.


All adults in the custodial household will be asked to provide documentation including but not limited to:

  • complete tax return for the most recent year
  • mortgage statement or rental agreement
  • child support documentation (if applicable)
  • W2 and/or 1099 for all jobs worked, and/or Social Security, unemployment or disability stubs if you are a recipient
  • IRS form 4506T (Request for Transcript of Tax Form) (available on the FAST website)
  • current credit report (NEW applicants only; available at no charge at www.annualcreditreport.com)

NSFS considère que les deux parents ou partenaires sont responsables des frais de scolarité de leur(s) enfant(s), quel que soit leur état civil ou l'existence de documents juridiques indiquant le contraire. Par conséquent, les partenaires séparés ou divorcés doivent tous deux remplir des demandes d'aide aux frais de scolarité. Veuillez contacter notre responsable des opérations operations@northseattlefrenchschool.com si vous avez des questions.

Bien que nous soyons très heureux de pouvoir offrir une aide aux frais de scolarité, nous ne pouvons garantir que nous aurons les fonds nécessaires pour répondre aux besoins démontrés de chaque candidat. Le montant maximum que nous pouvons offrir cette année est de 45% des frais de scolarité.

Bien que nous prévoyions que la majeure partie des fonds disponibles seront alloués aux candidats qui soumettent avant la date limite de mars, nous pouvons avoir des fonds de subvention disponibles et/ou supplémentaires plus tard dans l'année. Nous vous encourageons à postuler si nécessaire même après la date limite. Assurez-vous de contacter notre coordinateur d'admission pour une visite virtuelle de l'école avant de demander une aide financière.

Si nous recevons les demandes dûment remplies avec tous les formulaires nécessaires avant la date limite de mars, vous recevrez une lettre de décision d'aide aux frais de scolarité en avril.

Oui, l'aide est déterminée chaque année pour un an seulement. Toutefois, s'il n'y a pas d'évolution significative de votre situation financière, il est probable qu'une aide comparable vous soit proposée chaque année.

Nous sommes ici pour travailler avec toutes nos familles. Veuillez aviser immédiatement notre directeur des opérations si la situation financière de votre famille change de façon inattendue:  operations@northseattlefrenchschool.com.

fr_FRFrançais
Retour haut de page

Frequently Asked Questions

French Immersion

For students entering preschool and kindergarten, NO French is required. Beginning in 1st grade, some command of French is necessary. Non-native speakers will be assessed on a case-by-case basis.

Many of our preschool and kindergarten students do not speak or understand any French when they start school. Beginning on the first day, our teachers introduce students to the French language through everyday activities, including games, stories, songs and play.

Children’s natural capacity to learn and adapt means they will quickly begin to understand French, though some will take longer than others to feel comfortable speaking. Although children are encouraged to speak French in the classroom to teachers and each other, they are always able to express themselves and be understood in English. In addition, our native French-speaking students are encouraged to help and support their non-French-speaking friends.

Language is acquired most effectively when it is learned in a meaningful social context, such as school. Through immersion, our students learn French as they learned their mother tongue: in a nurturing environment, with lots of encouragement, plenty of gentle repetition, and physical cues as needed.

 

Most children will understand some French after just a few months. Some will begin experimenting with speaking right away, and others, though they may understand, will wait longer to speak until they feel more comfortable with the language.

In Kindergarten, English Language Arts is taught for around 4 hours per week. In 1st to 3rd grades, students spend about 30 % of their time with English-speaking teachers and 70% with French-speaking teachers. Students in 4th and 5th grades spend 50% of their time with English-speaking teachers and 50% with French-speaking teachers. Students study some subjects, such as math, in both languages. By the end of 1st grade, the vast majority of our students are conversant French speakers, with age-appropriate literacy skills in both French and English.

General

We offer after school care for our elementary students (starting in kindergarten). Learn more here.

Elementary school (K through 5th): 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Preschool: 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Yes! All elementary students have class time each week for music, visual arts, and STEM. They also have dedicated time for physical education and to visit the school library with their class.

Currently, we offer morning preschool only. If you need full time care, talk to our admissions coordinator admissions@northseattlefrenchschool.com.

Please note: All children must be fully potty-trained prior to starting preschool.

Admissions

For students entering preschool and kindergarten, NO French is required. Beginning in 1st grade, some command of French is necessary. Non-native speakers will be assessed on a case-by-case basis.

North Seattle French School follows the French system to determine grade level according to date of birth. To start school, students must reach the following age requirements by December 31 of the same year:

Preschool: 3 years old
Kindergarten: 5 years old
1st Grade: 6 years old
and so on for each subsequent grade.

For example, students who turn 5 in November may start kindergarten in September.

Please note: All children must be fully potty-trained prior to starting preschool.

Yes. Siblings of current students receive a 10% tuition discount and have admissions priority. Siblings are not automatically accepted; all applicants must complete the full admissions process.

It’s a good idea to start looking at schools in the fall for the following school year. Our application deadline is in March. If space is available, we also accept students mid-year.

Tuition Assistance

Elementary school families who have thoroughly reviewed their financial situation, including all sources of income, and feel they need help paying tuition are encouraged to apply. (We do not currently offer financial aid for preschool.) Aid is issued as a grant; there is no repayment obligation.

No. Financial aid applications are considered separately from admissions applications.

Please contact our admissions coordinator to schedule a tour of the school before applying for financial assistance.

NSFS uses FAST, an online service of the Independent School Management Association, to help determine financial aid. FAST calculates the demonstrated need amount for each family based on gross income, nontaxable income, assets, liabilities, family size, and the number of children in tuition-paying schools below the college level, among other factors. Using FAST ensures confidentiality and equal consideration to all applicants.

The NSFS Financial Aid Committee determines awards based on the FAST demonstrated need information together with the amount of financial aid available and the number of families applying for aid in a given year.

The application is entirely online, through our school’s FAST link above.


The final deadline is early in March for the following school year, but it is advisable to begin the FAST application as early as possible. Please begin your FAST application early to see exactly what documentation is needed. Please contact our Operations Manager at operations@northseattlefrenchschool.com for any questions.


All adults in the custodial household will be asked to provide documentation including but not limited to:

  • complete tax return for the most recent year
  • mortgage statement or rental agreement
  • child support documentation (if applicable)
  • W2 and/or 1099 for all jobs worked, and/or Social Security, unemployment or disability stubs if you are a recipient
  • IRS form 4506T (Request for Transcript of Tax Form) (available on the FAST website)
  • current credit report (NEW applicants only; available at no charge at www.annualcreditreport.com)

NSFS considers both parents or partners responsible for the educational expenses of their child(ren), regardless of marital status or the existence of legal documents stating otherwise. Therefore, separated or divorced partners must both complete tuition assistance applications. Please contact our Operations Manager at operations@northseattlefrenchschool.com if you have questions about specific circumstances.

While we are very glad to be able to offer tuition assistance, we cannot guarantee that we will have funds to meet every applicant’s demonstrated need. The maximum amount we can offer this year is 45% of tuition.

While we anticipate the bulk of available funds will be allocated to applicants who submit by the March deadline, we may have available and/or additional grant funds later in the year. We encourage you to apply if needed even after the deadline. Make sure to contact our admission coordinator for a virtual tour of the school before applying for financial assistance.

If we receive completed applications with all necessary forms by the March deadline, you will receive a tuition assistance decision letter in April.

Yes, aid is determined every year for one year only. However, if there are no significant changes to your financial situation, it is likely that comparable aid will be offered each year.

We are here to work with all of our families. Please notify our Operations Manager right away if your family’s financial situation changes unexpectedly:  operations@northseattlefrenchschool.com.

Scroll to Top